Our Reviews

Read below what our customers say about our services.

Read our Facebook reviews below:
 
  • Paul and his team are just fantastic. Since we moved into our house in June they have completed our hall, stairs and landing and our lounge. Their work is immaculate and they are all so professional. Also just lovely guys to have working in your house. We can’t recommend them enough and wouldn’t use anyone else.

    Tori Boycott Avatar Tori Boycott
    21/12/2022

    Always great work! Couldn’t ask for more

    Eddie Copley-Farnell Avatar Eddie Copley-Farnell
    16/09/2022

    Paul has now completed 2 rooms for me, a utility which involved using a specialist paint as the walls had been replastered with lime plaster and my son's bedroom whilst we were on holiday. His level of communication is 100% and he takes his quality of work seriously. He wants you to be 100% happy and prides himself on achieving the best result. I had no concerns leaving him house keys and liasing with the curtain fitter. We arrived home to a bedroom totally decorated and all that was left to do was to make the bed. Perfect in every way. Watch this space for the rooms we will be asking Paul to do next for us. Thanks Paul

    Nicola O'Keeffe Avatar Nicola O'Keeffe
    24/08/2022
  • We used Paul Smith Decorators for our bedroom. The work is exceptional and very thorough. Paul always leaves things tidy and nothing was too much trouble. Always cleared up after himself. Would definitely use again.

    RobandHazel Love Avatar RobandHazel Love
    21/08/2022

    Exceptional Service.... I would highly recommend the company, although I received cheaper quotes, I was reassured by the detailed time Paul took in pricing the job and the quote he provided. Justin arrived on time and was friendly and helpful. The quality of his work was to a high standard and the finish 100% professional. I'd have no hesitation in getting them back again for other projects.

    Paul Ellison Avatar Paul Ellison
    05/08/2022

    Justin is a super decorator and leaves everything immaculate. Both he and Paul are so friendly and approachable and we were so grateful everything was finished to time in order to fit in with other work.

    Lynda Moore Avatar Lynda Moore
    28/07/2022
  • Paul did a great job painting play equipment at Churchfield Open Space recently. He and his team are very professional, we are delighted with the results. Richard Denton Chair COSC

    Richard Denton Avatar Richard Denton
    13/06/2022

    We have used Paul and his team in every house we have had. Great work and wonderful manner with people. highly recommended x

    Claire Smith Avatar Claire Smith
    29/04/2022

    Extremely happy with the service we received from Paul and the team. The job was interrupted due to our family getting covid, so it ended up taking a little longer as some bits needed re-doing. Paul was really flexible and understanding. Jamie did a great job, was polite and just cracked on with the work - we hardly knew he was there. After the painting had been finished, a damp patch was visible on one of the walls. Paul checked with the plasterer to see if he'd noticed anything whilst doing his work. He then came back and put stain block on the wall and repainted it. Really happy with the service and will definitely use again next time we need any work doing πŸ˜€

    Gemma Wroe Avatar Gemma Wroe
    18/04/2022
  • Wallpapered our living room feature wall last week and we couldn’t be happier. Amazing service, very quick and tidy too! Fabulous. Will deffo use again. Highly recommend!

    Emma Em Avatar Emma Em
    05/04/2022

    Paul Smith Decorators recently painted our hall, stairs and landing and living room. We are very pleased with the results. The work was carried out professionally and politely and within the timescale that was estimated. We shall have no hesitation in recommending Paul Smith to our friends and when we next need a room decorated we know who to call!

    Joan Strong Avatar Joan Strong
    03/04/2022

    Paul provided a reasonable quote, worked to schedule (accommodating our availability), did excellent work, and left the house clean. When problems arose (not because of his work!), he visited us again at no charge to ensure that the work was done to our and his standards. He's one of the finest tradesmen in York that we've had the pleasure to work with. I cannot recommend him enough.

    Manunicast Weather Avatar Manunicast Weather
    28/02/2022
  • 100% recommend Paul Smith Decorators. They have done such a great job on our hall and stairs

    Sarah Penman Avatar Sarah Penman
    11/02/2022

    Highly recommend Paul Smith Decorators and delighted with the work done on our stairs and landing. Excellent standard of work, professional staff and kept us informed throughout. Would not hesitate to use again.

    Sarah Hare Avatar Sarah Hare
    03/02/2022

    Having work with PSD on various projects over the years, I could not rate him highly enough. The last job was complex and needed significant planning in order to paint 167 bathrooms at the Leeds Marriott hotel. This job was done on time without any issues to a high standard. their flexible approach and helpful team places them above the competition.

    Alan Malloy Avatar Alan Malloy
    01/02/2022
  • Paul and his team were at our house for 8 days and transformed it from top to bottom. Excellent work, minimal distribution and a great group of professionals. We have used Paul and his team before and won’t hesitate to again. Thank you so much for making our house a home.

    Jodie Roberts Avatar Jodie Roberts
    29/01/2022

    Over the past few years Paul has done work both for me in my house, and for my elderly Mother in hers. He and his team have always done a great job for us. Recently they completed several rooms including a tricky hall, stairs and landing in my Mum’s house, and worked long hours so that she was able to be out of the house for the minimum of time. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them. 🀩

    Debbie Long Avatar Debbie Long
    18/01/2022

    So pleased with the job on my spare room. The attention to detail is fantastic. It looks completely new. Everything was completed on time and they were courteous and polite. I will definitely be using them again.

    Laura Jane Simons Avatar Laura Jane Simons
    14/12/2021
  • We highly recommend Paul Smith Decorators. They redecorated the majority of our house last week. Firstly Paul took time and care to ensure we had the colours and finishes that were exactly what we wanted despite not knowing exactly ourselves. Then the team all took great care to cause the least disruption. They were very professional - punctual, polite, respectful of property and accommodating adjustments to the detail when requested without fuss. Their work is meticulous and it shows in the end result which is more than excellent. We don’t hesitate to highly recommend Paul and his team. Thankyou Paul for what feels like a new home!

    Lynden Tiplady Avatar Lynden Tiplady
    18/11/2021

    Just finished our lounge I would certainly recommend Paul Smith Decorators. The person we had was Justin he was punctual and kept us informed throughout the work if we need more painting and decorating then we shall certainly employ Paul Smith a thoughly professional all round decorator

    Rex Lees Avatar Rex Lees
    17/08/2021

    Firstly very reasonable quote and final invoice exactly as quoted, no sneaky bits added. Paul was very helpful with suggestions when I was a bit undecided and did a fantastic job on my feature wall as I had the paper put up horizontally, not the usual vertical. Must also mention Sam who did most of the painting, lovely young man. All in all they were very good and I will no hesitation in recommending the company. Brilliant job and brilliant price.

    Jan McManus Avatar Jan McManus
    06/08/2021
  • Paul and his team did a fab job in our house. They were very tidy and paid attention to detail. Will definitely be using them again!

    Vanessa Hunt Avatar Vanessa Hunt
    05/07/2021

    Paul has given us an excellent job, he and his team have been professional throughout and we are thrilled with their work. We highly recommend Paul and will be using him again in the future. Anne andPaul Wood. June 2021

    Anne Wood Avatar Anne Wood
    28/06/2021

    Paul did an amazing job of redecorating our front door and canopy which was long overdue! Great attention to detail going above and beyond what we expected, even cleaning the front of our gutters, soffits and fascias while he was at it which has really contributed to the overall finish. Would definitely recommend. Thanks Paul!

    Miriam Lowe Avatar Miriam Lowe
    26/06/2021
Read our reviews on Google here:
 

Smiths of York - Painters and Decorators IconSmiths of York - Painters and Decorators

Bardale, Tower Court Business Centre, Oakdale Road, York

5.0 95 reviews

  • Avatar Kyle Stott β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… in the last week
    Smiths of York did an amazing job painting our newly plastered loft room. Even stripping back our beams to perfection! Thank you very much!
  • Avatar Jan Boxshall β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… a week ago
    Paul and Sam did an excellent job with our hall and staircase - incredibly neat, professional and a great finish.
  • Avatar Chantal Hill β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 2 weeks ago
    Best Decorators ever. Worked on 2 separate projects for me and the attention to details is impressive. It is all in the prep work/sanding surfaces to perfection. Highly recommended and will now only use Smiths of York as they are the best. … More
  • Avatar Ryan Ghee β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 3 weeks ago
    Paul and his team did a brilliant job painting our living room, dining room, kitchen and staircase. Paul kept us updated throughout and we're delighted with the finished product. I would definitely recommend Smiths of York.
  • Avatar Andy Galloway β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 2 months ago
    Really pleased with Paul and his team. A great job done and maticulous in attention to detail. Very clean and tidy. Would highly recommend.
  • Avatar Rachel Martin β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 3 months ago
    Smiths of York carried out some work recently and the practice was really impressed with their service. Super tidy, punctual, friendly, professional, local and most importantly, they did a brilliant job.
  • Avatar Carl Leslie-Longfield β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 4 months ago
    Fantastic work, excellent quality and finish, nothing too much trouble - highly recommend, the team are a pleasure to deal with and their standard of work is exceptional!
  • Avatar Marie Wheller β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 4 months ago
    All prep work done to high standard. All work finished within specified time. Brilliant results. Very pleased with the outcome thanks to Sam. Highly recommend Smiths of York decorating.
  • Avatar Martin Dale β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 4 months ago
    We cannot recommend Paul and his team enough. You will not find a better decorating company and the quality of work is consistently high.
    We have used Paul for many decorating jobs over the years and always been really pleased with the
    … More finished job.
    Paul's prices are excellent and we won't hesitate to keep using him.
  • Avatar Dominic Ord β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 4 months ago
    Paul and his team have done an impeccable job decorating my 2 bed flat in York. The finish is perfect (he must have filled and sanded the walls about 4 times each!!)but the best thing about working with Paul was his vision and his patience. … More He could picture how the final product would look and gave me the confidence to follow through with bold colour choices. He also let me try different combinations through trial and error and ended up re painting certain areas. Best decorator in York. The work speaks for itself.
  • Avatar Sharon Hutton β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 5 months ago
    This really was a WOW! experience. The work was done to the very high spec discussed, it really is fabulous. I was away while the job was being done and it was lovely to come home and see the work completed. Thank you so much. I would … More highly recommend this company to anyone.
  • Avatar Fiona Cole β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 9 months ago
    This is the second time we have used Paul and his team.
    The quality of the work is exceptional, very professional , great preparation and attention to detail. And great results.
    Justin and Sam worked really hard and all the work was completed
    … More on schedule. They were very pleasant, punctual and totally professional.
    A credit to Paul and the company.
    Thank you all
    Would’t hesitate to recommend
  • Avatar Anne Mason β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 10 months ago
    I was very impressed from quote to work completed. The standard of work is excellent and I would definitely use them again.
  • Avatar Dean Otley β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 10 months ago
    What can I say.. Paul and Sam did a fantastic job decorating our Living room, Dining room, Hall/Stairs and Landing and a further bedroom. Paul provided advice on colour schemes to match up with future furniture through the process and we … More are very pleased with the results. The quality of workmanship, work ethic and attention to detail is second to none and we will definitely be using Smith’s of York for future work.
    Highly recommended, thanks again Paul and the team!
  • Avatar Mastrelli Maths β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 11 months ago
    Paul has done our house from top to bottom and we couldn't have asked for anyone nicer or better to complete the work. Tidy and efficient and always professional. Highly recommended.
  • Avatar Jennifer ODonnell β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 11 months ago
    Paul did an amazing job of doing my sons wall mural. Absolutely fantastic service and would 100% recommend. Really couldn’t be happier with the result and had so many compliments about how good it looks! Thank you Paul 😊
  • Avatar Rach _xx β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… a year ago
    Paul was amazing from start to finish. He answered my query quickly, visited to have a look at the house twice and gave his professional advice which was really helpful. Paul and Sam then decorated the entire house top to bottom - they … More have done such an incredible job and the house looks brand new. Paul and Sam were so friendly, polite, hardworking, conscientious and kept me updated on everything. The house was kept so tidy throughout the process and the detail that went into the job was so high. A complete delight from start to finish. I would recommend them to anyone and will be using them in the future.
  • Avatar James Lyons β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… a year ago
    My wife and I were blown away by the professionalism and quality provided by Paul Smith Decorators. Paul and his team were always punctual, polite and incredibly clean, leaving the place immaculate at the end of each day. They’ve completely … More transformed our house, and even as perfectionists, we simply can’t fault the job. Amy issues or concerns were addressed immediately and without complaint. It’s perfect… I would give a sixth star if I could!
  • Avatar Philip Winterflood β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… a year ago
    Paul and his team have completed a number of painting jobs in our home over recent months. These include painting several rooms (walls, ceilings & skirting), built-in wardrobes, our front door, the hall, stairs & landing, plus some … More external rendering. All of the decorating work has been completed to an excellent standard and Paul always personally ensured we were happy with each job before the team finished. I would highly recommend Paul and will most certainly be looking to use their services again for future projects!
  • Avatar Susie Dick β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 2 years ago
    The lads all did a sterling job. They arrived on time as promised, every day, and the work is of a high standard. I had every room done and I couldn’t be happier. They’re also so friendly yet professional and every query was answered quickly … More and any issues put right immediately. I felt very happy to leave them to it without having to take time off work. Thanks Paul. So pleased with the end result.
  • Avatar adam viney β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜… 2 years ago
    Paul and his team have done a fantastic job on decorating our new house. The team were extremely professional and tidy. Nothing was too much trouble , even going to get more paint and coming back at a later date as our wallpaper hadn’t … More arrived on time. The team has done a fantastic job throughout , it was planned and organised and we were kept informed of progress and plans throughout their time here. Most importantly as I work from home sometimes you wouldn’t know that they were in the house. The workmanship is the best I have come across.

Write your own Google review